Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

New (to me) computer!!!

Discussion in 'PC Forum' started by SpocKirk, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    The local internet gaming cafe just shut down and sold all of their computers. I bought a computer for $325:
    MSI motherboard
    Intel dual core 3GHz
    1GB DDR I (already replaced with 2GB)
    Nvidia GeForce GTS 250
    600W power supply
    120 GB HDD (only keeping it until I can get Windows 7 running on my 500GB)
    Windows XP

    Also got a M$ Intellimouse 3.0 ($5, came with a keyboard) and a CHIMEI LCD monitor ($40).

    I bought Starcraft II, Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II and Crysis. Hopefully the specs for Diablo III will be close to Starcraft II.
     
  2. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    Not bad. Not bad at all. :nod:

    What gaming cafe was it? I only know of the nexus.
     
  3. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yep, it was Nexus.

    I'm having some problems with the win7 install. MSI says windows 7 is not compatible with my motherboard. The windows 7 upgrade advisor says there are no hardware problems keeping me from using windows 7.

    /*edit:
    if I can't run windows 7, I might have wasted my money. Battlefield 3 will not be running on xp at all :(
    */
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011
  4. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    Hmm. If the manufacturer says it won't work with Windows 7 then I guess you are out of luck unless there is a hack. I don't have any experience with Windows 7.

    What about Windows Vista?
     
  5. harleyb

    harleyb Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    9
    Market Rating:
    0
    Isn't compatible or isn't "supported"? Significant differences. In many cases even if a manufacturer says it's not supported, it'll work fine. They just don't want to invest in technical support or issue product updates for win7-specific problems. It's probably an old board and they have zero incentive to help people when they'd rather customers buy new hardware.
     
  6. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    /*edit:
    nothing in the requirements rules out my hardware. Maybe drivers are my problem.
    */

    /*edit:
    I guess I was using a bad .iso, because I used a different one and it worked. I installed from a USB drive using a thumbdrive installer program and .iso from M$. I'm using it now!
    */
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2011
  7. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    Blegh, about 2 months after getting it working, it died. I'm looking at an ASUS Crosshair V motherboard and an AMD Phenom II 1100T to replace the bad motherboard and processor. I think the GTS 250 video card will be enough to run Diablo III well enough to hold me over until I get money.

    //edit: I might go with an AMD FX 8-core if I can find one for sale.

    /*edit2:
    I'm going to switch to an ASUS Sabertooth since I am new to the computer-building scene and I probably wouldn't use the extra features the Crosshair V has. Might as well save some money!
    */
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2011
  8. OsIriS

    OsIriS Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    5
    Market Rating:
    0
    ASUS support was fantastic when I used them, but I wound up going through 3 motherboards before saying screw it and switching to an EVGA, which has run perfectly for that last 6 months with no problems.

    I run an i7 920 with a Radeon HD 6850 GPU.

    Once I got over the initial fear of socketing my chipset. And once I figured out all the stupid stuff I was doing that kept shorting out the system and preventing it from loading, building your own computer is kind of fun.
     
  9. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yeah, it is fun! Everything worked out of the box for me, but I need new DVD drives because my board doesn't support IDE, only SATA. Luckily I had an Xbox 360 HD-DVD drive that I could connect via USB to install the NIC drivers. Windows told me I would need to go on the Internet to download NIC drivers! :retard:

    /* edit:
    So, I am posting from my new configuration:
    ASUS M5A97 motherboard
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2GHz CPU
    G-Skill 2x 4GB DDR3 RAM
    old things I reused:
    OCZ 600W power supply
    Nvidia GeForce GTS 250 1GB video card
    Seagate 500 GB HDD
    no-name case
    Rosewill keyboard
    Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 3.0 mouse

    Dual boot Windows 7/Ubuntu 11.10
    */
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2011
  10. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    More news, I bought a full-size case: Thor v2 white
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811147158
    and a SSD: Corsair 90GB SATA III (on sale with rebate, so $90)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233204
     
  11. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
  12. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    So much faster!!

    /*edit:
    I've been using my SSD for a few weeks now and after installing all my programs, I'm getting a consistent 32-second boot. The best I was getting with a regular HDD was 1:41.
    */

    //edit2: 24 SSDs in a raid: http://youtu.be/eULFf6F5Ri8
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2012
  13. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    Soooo, It's been a while since I updated this. I traded my AMD PhenomII for an AMD FX-8350 Vishera, my ASUS M5A97 motherboard for an ASUS M5A99Xv2.0, and my Nvidia GTS 250 for a Nvidia GTX 660ti. I added a Northgate OmniKey 102 (White ALPS mechanical keyboard) and a Seagate 640GB HD. YAY!
     
    Jakeman likes this.
  14. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    I hope to build a new PC soon...
     
    SpocKirk likes this.
  15. OsIriS

    OsIriS Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    5
    Market Rating:
    0
    Started thinking about it myself, but I think I'm fine for awhile.

    Intel i7 920 @2.67 ghz
    8gb RAM
    Radeon 6850 GPU 2gb RAM
    EVGA x58 sli3 mobo

    It still runs pretty smoothly, but my CPU is starting to run a little hot. I might have to do a thorough cleaning to see if I can get better air flow. I've got 4 fans not including the CPU, GPU and PSU fans (so 7 total fans). I'm still using the OEM heat sink, so I might consider swapping it for an aftermarket one to see if that will help.
     
    Jakeman likes this.
  16. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    I want a Cooler Master V8 GTS
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103189
    but it's probably a bit overkill. I'm idling at 27C.

    One of the reasons I bought a Rosewill Thor is that it had the best airflow for a full-size case. 230mm fans on top, front, and side, and a 140mm fan out the back.
     
    Jakeman likes this.
  17. OsIriS

    OsIriS Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    5
    Market Rating:
    0
    Can anyone recommend a decent sound card? The back ports stopped working and I have to have my speakers plugged into the front ports right now, which is not the best setup.

    This is what I was thinking, but there are a few concerns being voiced in the review http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16829102054
     
  18. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    What speaker system do you have? 2, 2.1, 5.1? Analog or digital?

    Most soundcards are overkill, depending on the sound system. That one is probably fine.
     
  19. OsIriS

    OsIriS Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    5
    Market Rating:
    0
    I usually use a pair of pioneer studio headphones, but my speaker system is a 2.1 (so a 5.1 sound card would be a bit of overkill).

    The bigger concern for me is making sure I have good dynamic range, because I use it for work (hence the studio headphones) and sound quality is much more important for that than it is for gaming.

    The two concerns in the reviews seem to be, one it doesn't fit properly into some cases/boards and two the drivers aren't the best but overall it seemed to be the best mid-range option out there.
     

Hitometer: 53,407,437 since 1995